Ohuhu Bug Zapper – The Best I’ve Ever Used

Wow. That is the first word that comes to mind when it comes the the new Ohuhu Electronic Bug Zapper. The company sent us one of these to try out and, their timing could not have been been better.

Halfway thought the summer we started to notice an influx in the number of yellow jacket bees around our house. At first, I didn’t think much of it. After we had some delivery to the house, in which one of the delivery guys was deathly allergic to bees, we realized how abundant they had become. It turned out they had started to build a nest behind out house’s siding. Not wanting to pay someone to get rid of them, we thought we would try to take matters into our own hands. This bug zapper combined with some old fashioned bug spray were were able to eliminate every single bee.

14518568_10100788551109493_1995664525_nKnowing that bees are closest to the nest in the evening, I put the bug zapper out, just a few inches from where the bees were entering. Within just a few hours, I had collected at least 100 bees! With dozens of others still flying around and swarming the zapper. The pictures are proof. I was extremely surprised at how well this zapper worked. Having seen other bug zappers in the past, including those old school purple zappers, I wasn’t sure how well this would work. Also, the fact I was trying to attract and kill bees, I wasn’t sure if it would be effective against them or not. But it was. I’m not sure if it was the lights used in the device itself, or the inaudible buzz the lights, make but the bees were all over the zapper.

After letting the zapper run through the night, I had to give the zapper a cleaning. Not only was the removable tray at the bottom of the zapper completely full, there were plenty of other bees stuck in the grates. While one night did kill a lot of bees, it did not eliminate all of them. In addition to using the Ohuhu bug zapper, I also used regular bug spray that I was able to shoot behind the siding. By alternating between the two different methods, I was successfully able to eliminate all of the yellow jackets. While it was a several day process (of killing the current bees, waiting for the larva to hatch, then killing the new bees), it was 100 percent effective.

14509321_10100788551129453_154620259_nIn addition to killing my troublesome bees, I also found the zapper to catch other night time pests. Now that the bees are gone from the front of the house, the zapper is now being moved to the backyard to help make our backyard movie nights a little more comfortable. It will be perfect for getting rid of flies, mosquitoes, and any other pests. While I set my bug zapper on my stairs, it can also be hung up with the included hanging tray. While the build of this is pretty decent, I noticed the bottom base, actually bent slightly while i was trying to “knock” some of the bugs out of the machine.

For just $25 on Amazon, the Ohuhu bug zapper is an amazing buy. In my opinion, it is worth every single penny. The fact that it was able to help me get rid of a pretty bad bee problem, saving me from paying exterminator fees,  speaks bounds. I’d say pick one up for yourself.

We received this item for free or at a discount in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

