Bluetooth Madness: 1byOne

Now that March Madness has come to a close, we are spending the month of April to look at various bluetooth headsets from a variety of companies. We won’t have a fancy bracket, or an office pool, but only one headset will come out on top. Up first: 1byOne

We were lucky enough to have 1byOne send us one of their 4.1 wireless bluetooth headsets. Right off the bat, the first thing I noticed was its bright green color (They are also available in black or white.) The next thing I noticed were these strange hooks on the top of the earbuds. These little probes I learned to love almost instantly, and I will explain that in a bit.

5174U3UEiIL._SL1171_Like most bluetooth headsets, you’ve got you two earbuds, some simple controls and your microphone. What I like about this headset so much, is the fact that the controls and microphone are on its own module on the cord, similar to where you find it on a wired headset. This puts the microphone closer to your mouth, making it easier for the person on the other end of your calls to hear you without extra background noise. The module also makes it easier to grab with your hand to change tracks and adjust the volume. Unfortunately, that is pretty much all you can do with this headset. The three buttons only allow you to answer and end calls, and adjust music setting. Since the center button also acts as the power button, using voice control, such as Siri is unusable. I tried, but instead of getting Siri to prompt up, the headset spoke to me instead telling me it was turning off.

IMG_9853I do however like the voice prompts built into the headset. It let’s me know when I am powering on or off the headset or when I’ve successfully paired to my device. To pair the headset to my phone, I just needed to turn bluetooth on my phone, then hold down the power button on the headset until it said connected. That was it. Once connected I did have a brief issue with it playing music through the headset, but a quick tap of the device within my phones settings, and I was able to rock out cord-free. Once connected, I was able to walk around the house without any loss of quality. It wasn’t until I was about 100 feet and 3 rooms over that I was starting to lose a connection.

FullSizeRenderThe sound quality on the actual headset it quite good. It has good bass response and everything sounds clear including calls. Helping aid the sound quality, is the headsets noise isolating design. 1ByOne included 3 different sizes for the earbuds as well as 3 different sizes of those rubber hooks I mentioned earlier. The purpose of those is to slide into your ear. This helps secure the earbuds into your ears to make sure they don’t fall out while your being active. I was able to jump around the house, with no issue of the earbuds falling out. Since you get the ear buds and the ear loops in 3 different sizes, you have a variety of combinations to find the best size for you.

As of the writing of this review, you can get a 1byOne bluetooth headset for less than $40 dollars. At that price point, I would say it’s worth it. Most wired headsets start at around $20 and don’t have all the features 1byOne offers. If you want to pick up a pair, you can check out now by clicking here.

 

We were provided this item for free or at a discount in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

