NYX Macaron Lippies

NYX-Macaron-Lippies-Swatches

NYX recently came out with this new lipstick collection, and when I came across it I fell in love. I just had to try them out! NYX Macaron Lippies come in 12 different shades of neon and pastel. From wearable shades, to slightly out there colors that not everyone would dare to wear. Many of these shades are great for layering however, and can turn your current favorite lipstick into a whole new shade.

DSC01879

For this review, I only purchased 3 colors. I stayed safe with Orange Blossom, Violet, and Rose. They are all true to color and most photos I have seen of them online are quite accurate.

DSC01881

from left to right: Violet, Rose, & Orange Blossom

What NYX says about these Macaron Lippies:
Fantasize in color with our neon and pastel lippies in 12 of the creamiest shades you’ll ever use. Our cruelty-free formula is packed with pigment and has a satin matte finish for long-wearing resilience.

DSC01883

Smooth & creamy when swatched. Even application and true to color.

Upon first application (& during my swatch test) I did notice a creamy feel, and a matte finish. I found using a lip liner, in either nude, or as close of a match to these shades as possible helped keep the color even, and helped it last all day. All 3 shades lasted through eating and drinking, with only a little color rubbing off. Even greasy food didn’t take the color off fully. I do think it was because I lined them first, and I do think its a good idea if you want these to look their best for a longer period of time. As for scent, I assumed they would all have a slight fragrance similar to the color name they were given, but instead they all smell faintly of vanilla, & I barely notice it.

*Tip 1: Use an eyeliner as your lip liner if you can’t find a lip liner shade to match these lippies!

*Tip 2: make sure to exfoliate and moisturize your lips well before applying or it will bring out the dryness and imperfections. Try to get your lips as smooth as possible before using.

Untitled2

I have fallen in love with these shades so much that I have decided I need more colors from this collection. I look forward to trying out shades such as Citron, Lavender, Pistachio, and Chambord in the near future. Trying out new looks is something I think more people should try, and these may be a fun way to start!

You can order your NYX Macaron Lippies at Ulta for only $5.99/each or on the NYX website for $6.00 and free shipping over $25!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

