My Konjac Sponge

DSC01664

I first came across the Konjac sponge on instagram. A model/beauty blogger had posted about it, and perhaps like you reading this right now, I had never heard of it. I decided to look the Konjac sponge up and see exactly what it was. It turns out, they are skin-cleansing sponges, that are all-natural, and biodegradable. I was instantly interested in trying these out, and with many thanks to those at My Konjac Sponge, I was able to. I was sent the french pink clay facial konjac sponge, which claims to be suitable for dry, dehydrated, and fatigued skin by stimulating blood flow and renewing skin cells. Great during harsh winter months and the heat of summer. Which was great to hear, because I really needed something to help my dry, irritated skin from the long winter of the north east.

DSC01665

When I began testing out this sponge, I had a lot of dry patches on my forehead and around my nose. It seemed no matter how much moisturizer I would use daily, it just didn’t go away. I tried natural exfoliators, and face masks, but within a day or 2 it would be back again. I was hoping this sponge would do the trick! I started out by running it under water until it became soft. Straight out of the package it is fairly hard. It kind of looks and feels like hard foam (or…a dried out sponge). Next step is to gently massage in circles around your face, with or without cleanser. I used it with, as I wanted to see how well it helped remove makeup. Follow this step by rinsing off your face, then rinsing the sponge and squeezing out the water. Hang to dry. Done & done.

DSC01667

 

DSC01674

I used this with Pacifica Sea Foam Complete Face Wash & it lathered nicely.

I found the steps easy to follow, and it seemed to work well with removing all of my makeup (not eyes, I use a separate cleanser for that) even long wearing products seemed to come off with ease. It also helped my natural facial cleanser suds up a lot more then my old facial scrubber. I do wish they came in a smaller size for the face however, because it seemed quite large to me. Maybe thats because I have a tiny little pea head, but it was difficult for me to wash my face without getting my hair line wet, or to go around my nose, mouth, and eyes easily.   Even for travel purposes, a smaller size to throw in a toiletry bag would be awesome! (*hint  hint* Konjac people)

After the first week, I could see a slight difference in my skin. It isn’t as dry across the forehead area, and my pores seem to be clearing out a bit. My skin feels much better, and any small breakouts I have had, are now cleared up. I definitely recommend trying The Konjac Sponge out if you have problem skin. Whether its acne, dry skin, or extreme sensitivity these could work wonders for you.

My Konjac is available in 7 different products for varying skin types and ages. From oily to combination skin, and even for babies. These sponges are made exclusively with Konjac fiber, a vegetable fiber taken from the root of the Konjac plant, which is a potato/elephant yam, native to eastern Asia. It is rich in vitamins and minerals. They are the most gentle sponges on the market, so those with sensitive skin will be happy to have found these. They are also eco-friendly, cruelty-free and vegan. Free from any additives or chemicals that can harm either you or the environment. They are biodegradable, and can be composted after the 2-3 month life span is complete, and their packaging is also recyclable. Amazing.

Types available:

Bamboo Charcoal Facial Sponge – for oily & acne prone skin
French Green Clay Facial Sponge – for Combination skin
Pure Facial Sponge – for all skin types, including sensitive skin
Volcanic Scoria Facial Sponge – for dry & sensitive skin
French Pink Clay Facial Sponge – for dry, dehydrate, & fatigued skin
Six Wave Body Sponge – for all skin types
Baby Bath Sponge – for all babies & children…or those with extra sensitive skin

A few facts:

100% Natural Sponge
100% coloring & additive free
Naturally sustainable
pH Balanced
Microwave for 1 minute to sanitize
check them out & like them on Facebook!

Purchase HERE now at Amazon. Priced from $10-$13
And for other retailers, check their official website. MyKonjacSponge

DSC01668

The My Konjac Sponges texture up close

 

Leave a Reply

