MOVBands – A Great Concept, But Lacking Features

Movable’s MOVbands were created in an effort to address the growing concern of childhood obesity. Designed to be used by children, MOVbands track how much a user moves in a day. Earlier this year a MOVband was sent to me to try out. While the device is a wonderful concept, I think there are some things that could be improved on.
MOVbands are stylish watch-like devices that can track how much someone  moves in the day by the use of a small accelerometer inside.

mov1

With a wide range of different band colors, users can modify their MOVband to fit their personality. Once worn, MOVbands can be plugged into a computer through the included USB cable, to log and track a users movements. When used by groups, users can see how much they are moving compared to others. Goals can then be set, and those who achieve can be rewarded with colored tabs for their wrist strap.
MOVbands have three functions. A watch, a pedometer type device that tracks a users movements, and a counter to track how many miles a user has moved. What I like about the MOVband is it will track your movement for the day, then reset itself back to zero when the clock strikes midnight. Unfortunately, the counter for miles does not reset. I am not sure why the developers decided to do design it that way, but I’m sure it is something that could easily be changed with a software update if they ever did decide to make a change. One thing the MOVband is missing, is a stop watch feature. Since MOVbands are designed to log activity, it would be nice to be able to time activies as well. For example when I go running, I like to be able to time myself. It would be silly to wear both a watch with a stopwatch as well as a MOVband while working out. I feel like this was a simple feature that could have been added, but was just overlooked.
Yes, I know MOVbands are targeting towards younger children in school, but I think Movable really missed an opportunity to reach a much larger audience. Adults still go out and take walks during their lunch breaks. Many are still concerned about being active during the day. Even as I write this review, I know I missed a workout this morning and need to get into a better regimen. Adults are always trying to find ways to motivate themselves into working out or being more active. I think MOVbands could be that one thing that helps them move forward. By creating a MOVgroup online, they could track their
movements and communicate with each other that they need to get their butts in gear.
MOVbands a relatively cheap and can be brought directly from Movable’s Website. Parents, you may even see your child bringing one of  these home one day as schools around the county join the MOVment.
2 thoughts on “MOVBands – A Great Concept, But Lacking Features

  1. Hello there, I found your website by the use of Google at the same time as looking for a comparable topic, your website got here up, it appears to be like good. I’ve bookmarked to favourites|added to my bookmarks.

  2. Good day! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team of volunteers and starting a new
    project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on.
    You have done a marvellous job!

Leave a Reply

